A-Z Of Reasons To Recover: K Is For Karen Carpenter

While I would in no way suggest that anyone’s recovery should be done in another’s name and for another person’s gain as I would always advocate the notion that the only way one will ever succeed in recovery is to really want it yourself and seek help voluntarily, I felt it was only right to take this opportunity to honour a notable figure (rather sadly) famous for her struggle with anorexia nervosa. She was also recently brought back to my attention following the viewing of a documentary which focused on her life after having fallen off my radar during the years of my own struggle despite being a regular feature of many Saturday afternoons spent “helping” (or rather “hindering”) my mother’s completion of housework. I am, of course, speaking of the one and only Karen Carpenter.

*SERIOUS TRIGGER WARNING*

The Carpenters  File Photos

Carpenters 1976 Karen Carpenter (Photo by Chris Walter/WireImage)

Karen Carpenter shot to fame as one half of the sibling duo The Carpenters alongside her brother Richard during the 1970s. Noted for her enchanting contralto voice capable of bringing a tone of such melancholy, pain and knowledge well beyond her years to any song and amazing drumming skills, one thing is for certain: the lady had talent utterly oozing out of every pore and positively pulsing through her veins. With such hits as “We’ve Only Just Begun” and “Close To You” under her belt, it is undeniable that Karen should go down in history as one of the greatest musical artists to ever live. This is what she should be remembered for.

 

However, the world’s memory of such a beautiful talent is clouded by this unbelievable woman’s unfortunate fixation on dieting. It is believed that Karen first started dieting in 1967, embarking on the Stillman Quick Weight Loss Diet at the suggestion of a doctor, eating only low fat foods and drinking eight glasses of water per day. At a height of 5 feet and 4 inches, Karen began dieting at a weight of 66kg. By September 1975, Karen had dropped to her lowest weight of 41kg.

k10

It is evident from interview footage from this time how little was known regarding anorexia nervosa. Dismissed only as an extreme form of fad dieting with interviewers being so insensitive as to comment on Karen’s struggles with “The Slimmer’s Disease”, Karen spent the latter part of her life attending psychotherapy. This was to no avail (obviously due to a lack of knowledge on the part of her consultants) as she continued to deteriorate, abusing thyroid replacement medication and laxatives. Finally, she was admitted to hospital in September 1982 and attached to a drip, which caused her to gain an excessive amount of weight much too quickly, putting a massive strain on her heart. Karen Carpenter died on 4th February 1983 at the age of 32 as a result of  “emetine cardiotoxicity due to or as a consequence of anorexia nervosa.”

Today, a greater knowledge in regards to the complications surrounding anorexia nervosa allows us to assume that Karen experienced refeeding issues. Today, there is considerably greater help more widely available. Today is different. Today, we can change.

It breaks my heart that the musical achievements of Karen Carpenter are often forgotten in favour of this cruel and terrible disease which destroyed her. She was an innovative artist, she was intelligent and she was brilliant. We need to remember this. She was so much more than this monster that lived inside her head. And so are we.

I hope that despite whichever afterlife Ms Carpenter has found herself in, be it The Summerlands or Nirvana or Heaven, she is able to look down and gaze upon this article. I hope she can read this next statement. Karen Carpenter has inspired me. Her story has encouraged me to murder this demon once and for all. I will not let my achievements be overshadowed by a pathetic voice in my head which craves all my attention because it realises how insignificant and ridiculous it is. I will not let my unique personality be forgotten in favour of my demise. I am killing it for Karen Carpenter.

That being said, I do not want to forget my battle. I am sick and tired of people assuming that because I look a bit healthier that I am completely cured. This statement is also spurned by a comment one family member of mine made whilst watching the Carpenter documentary. With no intended malice and without a second thought, he simply uttered under his breath that, “She [Karen Carpenter] was really miserable, wasn’t she?” This angered me a little, as it was said with an air which suggested that my own struggle was forgotten; that someone close to him had never experienced something similar. I will live with this taunting voice in my head for the rest of my life. It is my closest companion and it will live with me forever because, honestly, it has nowhere else to go. But I own my disease. I own my tormentor. And that is what makes me a warrior. I will say this without a stutter: I am proud of my anorexia nervosa because it made me who I am today, and that is a fighter.

I will leave the last words to Ms Carpenter herself, and I can only hope that this melody and this voice stays with you long after the final note resonates through your eardrum and nestles in your mind’s landscape. And I can only hope it encourages you to live.

 

-Niamhy xx

One thought on “A-Z Of Reasons To Recover: K Is For Karen Carpenter

  1. Thank you for writing this. Weight gain is not indicative of our healing; as Karen would have said “we’ve only just begun”. Her story is such a heartbreak. I’m glad the medical community especially has learned of the dangers of re-feeding. Anyway, I could go off but great post.

    Like

Leave a comment