Knights (or Knightesses?) in Knitwear Armour…

If there’s one thing that those biting winter solstice nights call for, it is some radical witchy knitwear. And no-one does Gothic knitwear quite like Maude Nibelungen.

maudenibelungenlogo

I would be downplaying my obsession to say that I simply loved this lady’s work. I would give arms, legs, vital organs to own a piece of this crocheted artistry! Unfortunately, as a mere young’un, it is quite impossible for me to afford one of these masterpieces and the prices of such works of visual beauty are completely justified. The biography that the online store offers of the designer herself is completely fascinating, citing influences in her designs such as her knowledge of History and the Anthropology of Religion, as well as her keen interest in the more ‘surreal’ aspects of human nature. To be completely honest, I think I want to be the woman’s best friend. I think we should meet up for coffee sometime. I’ll pay.

maude_nibelungen_for_velvit

Now, I know you are all positively gagging for a little sneaky peek at some of the items the website has to offer. Well, here are my top three key pieces which I think completely epitomise ethereal Wiccan fashion. If any of my lovely readers are feeling extra generous, you might make a note of these and send me a little Secret Santa surprise…’tis nearly the season to be jolly after all.

1) The Cocoon Sweater 

cocoonsweater

This is possibly my ultimate favourite piece. There are absolutely no faults with this item of clothing. It is completely flawless. The cocoon shape. The large looped stitch. The hood. The slouched shoulders. The drowning sleeves. It is completely perfect. And I am completely in awe. It is actually physically paining me to look at it and not have it envelope my body. I need to tear my eyes away from it. I can’t bear it any longer. I’m gone.

2) The Off White Sweater

offwhitesweater

Every Goth needs a pop of (off) white in their wardrobe to make the ultimate fashion statement. And I think this jumper is a must. The almost ‘unfinished’ quality of the loose draping threads which dangle from the hem add a rough edge to the piece whilst still managing to maintain an air of elegance and surreal allure. I don’t know about you but looking at this jumper makes me immediately want to pull it over my head and stand in an open field, embracing some gale-force winds. Oh. Just me? Okay. No problem.

3) Collaboration with Ovate

mnxovate

Okay, okay, I may have told a dirty little fib when I said three key pieces because technically this is an entire collection. But the collaboration between Maude Nibelungen and Ovate (another brand which I completely ADORE  and which will undoubtedly make more appearances on this blog in the very near future) is literally sonnet-worthy. I can’t even pick just one stand-out item from the bunch…they are all too stunningly gorgeous! Therefore, I felt it was only just that I mentioned it. Even if I’m not entirely sure if these items are still for sale. But still. How could I refuse to have the glorious specimen of a cape which takes pride of place above grace this unworthy fashion blog?

To conclude, I suppose this post is both an adoration of Maude Nibelungen’s awesome craftsmanship as well as a plea for anyone with some spare dolla to help a needy girl and kit her out with some spine-tinglingly beautiful knitwear for the impending winter nights. God loves a trier.

-Niamhy xx

Leave a comment